Your City Councillors

Political Structure

Councillors are elected by local people to represent their community. Either two or three local city councillors are elected from each of the 15 areas of the city, or 'wards'. They work together to decide the council's priorities and how it should carry out its work. They also work to make sure that council services are delivered to you in the most efficient and effective way possible.

There are 35 councillors in total. Each one is elected for a term of four years. Elections are run by the Electoral Services team based at the Guildhall. The councillors you choose to represent you give up a lot of their time to serve the community, and most are paid a basic allowance of £3,990 a year.

The political makeup of Worcester City Council


Number of seats

Conservative Party


Labour Party


Green Party


Current Worcester City Councillors

Find details on the current Councillors and wards which they serve.

If you are not sure which ward you live in please call the council on 01905 722006 or 01905 722085 or e-mail:

The Cabinet

The Council's Cabinet are responsible for ensuring that tasks and targets made in the year's performance plan are implemented. They are primarily supported in achieving this by the Council's Managing Director and Corporate Management Team.

Cabinet Members


Leader of the Council


Councillor Adrian Gregson

Councillor Adrian Gregson


Deputy Leader of the Council and Portfolio Holder for Performance and Resouces


Councillor Joy Squires

Cllr Joy Squires


Portfolio Holder for Housing and Heritage


Councillor Roger Berry

Cllr Roger Berry



Portfolio Holder for Clean, Green & Leisure Services


Councillor Jabba Riaz

Councillor Jabba Riaz


Portfolio Holder for Sustainable Communities


Councillor Lyn Denham

Cllr Lyn Denham


Portfolio Holder for Economic Prosperity and Growth


Councillor Geoffrey Williams
Cllr Geofrey Williams

The Mayor of Worcester

The Mayor is the Civic Head of the Council. In May of each year, one of the Councillors is elected to serve as Mayor for one year and another elected as a Deputy. He/she chairs meetings of the Full Council and represents the city at ceremonial occasions. The Mayor also welcomes international visitors and attends events organised by local people.

The Mayor for 2016/2017 is: Cllr Paul Denham

The Deputy Mayor for 2016/2017 is: Cllr Steve Mackay

Your vote: make it count

If you want to play your part in the future of Worcester, then use your vote. By taking the time to vote in local elections, you can make sure that your voice is heard. The elected councillor will be the voice of your local community for the coming four years - so make sure you have your say.

To be eligible to vote in any elections you must be over 18 and your name must be on the Electoral Register which is updated annually. To enter your name you must complete the registration form which is sent to your home each year.

For more details on the electoral register please call Di Thomas on 01905 722027 or e-mail