New Mayor for Worcester


 Worcester's new Mayor has taken up residence in the Parlour at the Guildhall with outgoing Mayor Councillor Adrian Gregson handing over the chain of office to Cllr Louis Stephen, who was voted in at last night's Annual Council meeting.

Cllr Mel Allcott was voted in as Deputy Mayor.

New Mayor, Cllr Stephen, told the meeting: "It is a great honour to be elected as Mayor of Worcester, it's a tradition that goes back not years, but centuries and I would like to thank the outgoing mayor and mayoress for showing me the ropes, during my time as deputy mayor."

Cllr Stephen has chosen to continue to have a Mayor's Orator – this will be Worcestershire Poet Laureate Rhianna Levi.

His chosen charity for his mayoral year will be Age UK and the theme for his mayoral year is "creating a community that values and includes our older citizens".

The new joint council leaders are Cllr Lynn Denham (Labour) and Cllr Marjory Bissett (Green).

Also elected at the meeting were the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Council's committees.

Policy & Resources Committee

Chair: James Stanley (Conservative)

Vice-chair: Lynn Denham (Labour)

Vice chair: Marjory Bissett (Green)

Communities Committee

Chair: Jabba Riaz (Labour)

Vice-chair: Neil Laurenson (Green)

Environment Committee

Chair: Karen Lewing (Green)

Vice-chair: Zoe Cookson (Labour)

Health & Wellbeing Committee

Chair: Lynn Denham (Labour)

Vice-chair: Stephen Hodgson (Conservative)

Place and Economic Development Committee

Chair: Robyn Norfolk (Labour)

Vice-chair: Owen Cleary (Conservative)

Income Management Sub-committee

Chair: James Stanley (Conservative)

Vice-chair: Jabba Riaz (Labour)

Personnel and General Purposes Sub-committee

Chair: Steve Cockeram (Green)

Vice-chair: James Stanley (Conservative)


Chair: Karen Lewing (Green)

Vice chair:Pat Agar (Labour)

Licensing and Environmental Health Committee

Chair: Richard Udall (Labour)

Vice-chair: Mel Allcott (Liberal Democrat)

Audit and Governance Committee

Chair: Alan Amos (Conservative)

Vice-chair: Tom Piotrowski (Green)

Standards Committee

Chair: Karen Lawrance (Lib Dem)

Vice-chair: Jill DeSayrah (Labour)

Meet Worcester’s new Mayor
Voter ID and how it impacted on Worcester City ele...

Related Posts