Results are in for Worcester City Council election

Worcester Guildhall Worcester Guildhall

The results are in for the elections for members of Worcester City Council, held on May 4.

With all the votes counted, the Greens won five of the 11 seats, Labour won four, and the Liberal Democrats won two.

This means the political balance on the City Council is now:

  • Labour – 13 seats
  • Greens – 10 seats
  • Conservatives – 8 seats
  • Liberal Democrats – 4 seats.

This means that there is now no overall control of the Council.

This is the final year in which Worcester City Council will hold annual elections, with one third of seats going to the polls each year. From 2024, the City Council will move to a system where all seats are elected once every four years. For that reason, the new councillors elected today will only serve one-year terms.

The results by ward are:

  • Arboretum – Hannah Cooper (Green)
  • Bedwardine – Sue Smith (Labour)
  • Cathedral – Atif Sadiq (Labour)
  • Claines – Jessie Venegas Jagger (Liberal Democrats)
  • Nunnery – Simon Cronin (Labour)
  • St Clement – Tor Pingree (Green)
  • St John – Richard Udall (Labour)
  • St Peter's Parish – Elena Round (Green)
  • St Stephen – Marjory Bisset (Green)
  • Warndon Parish North – Sarah Murray (Liberal Democrat)
  • Warndon Parish South – Andrew Cross (Green).

Read the full results

The City Council holds its Annual Council meeting on 16 May. The Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Leader, and the Chairs and Vice Chairs of committees will be appointed at that meeting.

Meet Worcester’s new Mayor
Card payments to return to Worcester car parks, fi...

Related Posts