New Mayor for Worcester

Worcester Guildhall Worcester Guildhall

Worcester's new Mayor has taken up residence in the Parlour at the Guildhall with outgoing Mayor Councillor Stephen Hodgson offering up the chain of office to Cllr Adrian Gregson, who was voted in at tonight's Annual Council meeting.

Cllr Louis Stephen was voted in as Deputy Mayor.

New Mayor, Cllr Gregson, told the meeting: "My charities will be Onside Advocacy and Severn Arts. Drawing inspiration from my grandad's twin, who was Mayor of Glossop in the 1940s and who was known as the musical mayor, I have decided that my theme this year will be tackling mental health and wellbeing through a culture of creativity, art and music."

The meeting also saw Worcester City Council's constitution amended to allow the appointment of two Leaders when there is no overall control of the Council, as is currently the case. Conservative group leader Cllr Marc Bayliss was voted in as one Leader, and no nomination was made for a second Leader.

Also elected at the meeting were the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Council's committees.

Policy & Resources Committee
Chair: Cllr Marjory Bissett (Green)
Vice-chair: Cllr James Stanley (Conservative)
Vice chair: Cllr Lynn Denham (Labour)

Communities Committee
Chair: Cllr Jabbar Riaz (Labour)
Vice-chair: Cllr Owen Cleary (Conservative)

Environment Committee
Chair: Cllr Andy Stafford (Conservative)
Vice-chair: Cllr Karen Lewing (Green)

Health & Wellbeing Committee 
Chair: Cllr Lynn Denham (Labour)
Vice-chair: Cllr Stephen Hodgson (Conservative)

Place and Economic Development Committee
Chair: Cllr Lucy Hodgson (Conservative)
Vice-chair: Cllr Robyn Norfolk (Labour)

Income Generation Sub-committee
Chair: Cllr Jabbar Riaz (Labour)
Vice-chair: Cllr Steve Mackay (Conservative)

Personnel and General Purposes Sub-committee
Chair: Cllr James Stanley (Conservative)
Vice-chair: Cllr Lynn Denham (Labour)

Chair: Cllr Chris Mitchell (Conservative)
Vice-chair: Cllr Pat Agar (Labour)

Licensing and Environmental Health Committee
Chair: Cllr Richard Udall (Labour)
Vice-chair: Cllr Louis Stephen (Green)

Audit and Governance Committee
Chair: Cllr Alan Amos (Conservative)
Vice-chair: Cllr Jenny Barnes (Labour)

Standards Committee
Chair: Cllr Mel Allcott (Liberal Democrat)
Vice-chair: Cllr Andy Roberts (Conservative)

£150 energy rebate for Worcester Council Tax payer...
Cattle ‘let loose’ as part of natural care plan on...

Related Posts